Tips & Tricks — Intergroup Privacy

21 June, 2012

One of the many features of ShareVault is the ability to designate inter-group privacy settings. This feature is designed to let the administrator decide whose names can and cannot be seen by other users. In most applications of ShareVault, maintaining privacy is vital, but on the other hand there are many instances where users should to be able to see the identity of other users. Managing this is done using the Inter-Group Privacy settings.

In what cases can a user see another user's name?
In ShareVault, the identity of the person who published a file can be displayed next to each file. In many cases, this is very useful, so that users know the source of the document, but in other cases, the identity of the user should be masked.

Also, a user can see the history for a file. An administrator can see the complete history of each file, including who accessed the file and when. An end user can also see the history of a file, but for end users, the displayed history will only show the times that the file was accessed by that particular user and, depending on the inter-group privacy settings, the times that the file was accessed by others in the user's group.

Finally, in the ShareVault Q&A module, a Q&A moderator can change the visibility of a Q&A thread to be visible to other users besides just the user who asked the question. In this case, the name of the users who asked and responded to the question can be shown or masked depending on the inter-group privacy settings.

Configuring Your ShareVault Inter-Group Privacy Settings Is Easy

When a group is created on the Users & Groups page an administrator can designate the inter-group privacy settings for that group. The choices for inter-group privacy settings are None, Hidden, Restricted, or Self-Restricted:

The first two (None and Hidden) are typically used for groups with users that work for your company. The last two (Restricted and Self-Restricted) are most often applied to the third-party groups that should not be able to know about each other.

None — Use None for groups containing members whose names do not need to be kept private. Members of groups with no inter-group privacy can view the names of all users and groups, and can be viewed by all users in the ShareVault. 

Hidden – Use Hidden for groups whose members need to be kept private. Members of Hidden groups will be able to view the names of all users and groups, but will be hidden from members of Restricted groups. 

Restricted – Use Restricted for third-party groups when the users belong to the same company or organization. Members of the Restricted groups can view and be viewed by members of their own group. Restricted users however cannot view other Restricted or Hidden groups and their members and conversely cannot be viewed by members of other Restricted groups.

Self-Restricted – Members of Self-Restricted groups cannot see the names of other Restricted groups or their members and conversely cannot be viewed my members of other Restricted groups, and can also not view or be viewed by members of their own group. The Self-Restricted group privacy setting is usually used for groups with unaffiliated members that don’t belong to the same organization or company.